Roswell Rotary Club

Club History

Chartered On March 23, 1951

The Rotary Club of Roswell, Georgia, sponsored by the Rotary Club of Atlanta, was presented its Charter on April 18, 1951 at the Banquet Hall of the High School in Alpharetta, with 84 Rotarians and guests present. William D. Ellis of the Rotary Club of Atlanta and owner of Southern Mills, Inc., was Master of Ceremonies, presiding over the evening’s activities.

Charter Presentation by the Honorable Governor Gus Murray

Gifts Presented From Other Clubs:

  • Rotary Club of Atlanta – Rotary Bell and lapel pins presented by Malon Courts
  • Rotary Club of Decatur – Rotary Banner presented by Alton Costely
  • Rotary Club of Warm Springs – the President’s Gavel of wood from a tree owned by Franklin D. Roosevelt, William D. Ellis made this presentation
  • Rotary Club of Austell – a stand and trim
  • Rotary Club of Marietta – American Flag presented by Charlie Clotfelter
  • Rotary Club of Canton – a speaker’s stand

Roswell In 1951

The 1950 census indicated Roswell’s population 2123 and the city limits contained approximately 1000 acres. Telephone numbers were four digits and a call from Roswell to Alpharetta was long distance and a minimum charge of $.10. The minimum wage was $.75 per hour, the cost of a new Ford was $1,480, gasoline was $.27/gallon (including windshield cleaning and checking of oil, tires & coolant by an attendant), a loaf of bread was $.10, milk was $.96/gallon and a three bedroom house was $9,000.
Roswell High School graduated 22 seniors and was located with the Roswell Elementary School on Mimosa Boulevard. Prior to that time, Milton High School was the only high school north of the Chattahoochee River as there was still considerable farming in the area.

The Fried Chicken Club

The Club met at the “Building under the water tank” in Roswell on Thursdays with fried chicken by Mrs. Bagley and Chestine Pelfrey. This southern food tradition continues today. Meetings were moved to the Community Activity Building in the Roswell Area Park on Woodstock Road as the Club grew.

A Fundraising Tradition Begins In 1969

The Aubrey Greenway Memorial Golf Tournament was first conducted in 1969 and was later named for its first proponent and organizer. The success of this annual fundraiser has been made possible by the very generous support of membership and the community at large. In the spirit of Service Above Self, it has allowed the Roswell Rotary Club to fund many needed charitable gifts, scholarships, and desired community and international projects.
Today the Annual Aubrey Greenway Golf Tournament has been joined by the Hagan Cup Classic Tennis Tournament and the “On The Deck” after party with casino tables. Join us for a great day of play, followed by a fun night of celebration, all to raise funds for our community.
Golf & Tennis Tournament

Sponsoring The Memorial Day Celebration Since 1998

What began as a patriotic project by Roswell Rotary to sponsor a 1998 Memorial Day Celebration in Roswell was soon joined by Roswell East to become the annual Memorial Day Celebration. With the cooperation of the City of Roswell, this celebration is said to be the largest in the state of Georgia, and has created its own standing committee.
Memorial Day Celebration

Parrot Shirts

You can always recognize a Roswell Rotartian by their bright red parrot shirt. These shirts help our club stand out from the crowd and have become a new Roswell Rotary tradition.

Past Presidents Of Roswell Rotary Club

2014-15 Lou Tabickman
2013-14 Dave Schmit
2012-13 Jacque Digieso
2011-12 Dave McCleary
2010-11 Mike McRay
2009-10 Elwyn Gaissert, II
2008-09 Bob Hagan
2007-08 Gene Beckham
2006-07 Ron Redner
2005-06 Cheryl Greenway
2004-05 Harvey Smith
2003-04 David Young
2002-03 Alan Motter
2001-02 Pat DiGeorge
2000-01 Bucky Cook
1999-00 Allen Dalton
1998-99 Rick Dreger
1997-98 Tom Price
1996-97 Don Howard
1995-96 Victor Smith
1994-95 Jack A. Stephens
1993-94 Steven R. Stroud

1992-93 Jeff Hamling
1991-92 T.J. Eberhardt
1990-91 Skipper Hoke
1989-90 Ben Magoon
1988-89 Ron Spencer
1987-88 Trummie Patrick
1986-87 Bill Lewis
1985-86 Lew Marshall
1984-85 Buddy Stamps
1983-84 Joe Hopkins
1982-83 Gary Waddell
1980-81 Frank Brown
1981-82 Wilbur Avera
1979-80 Chas. Harmon
1978-79 Archie Lindsey
1977-78 Bill Stewman
1976-77 Aubrey Greenway
1975-76 Bruce Farris
1974-75 John Collins
1973-74 Dean Childress
1972-73 Donald Tolbert

1971-72 George Massey
1970-71 Dr. Thomas Conner
1969-70 Gene Faircloth
1968-69 Chas. Hansard
1967-68 Walter Eaves
1966-67 Maurice Hilliard, Jr.
1965-66 Jan Hoppe
1964-65 Jeff McConnell
1963-64 Herbert Hawkins, Jr.
1962-63 Harold Benson
1961-62 Lee Callaway
1960-61 Andy Irvin
1959-60 A.D. Hammond
1958-59 Roger Thompson
1957-58 William Donehoo
1956-57 Homer Powell
1955-56 Elwyn Gaissert, Sr.
1954-55 Herb Hawkins, Sr.
1953-54 Teasley Upshaw
1952-53 Chas Foster, Sr.
1951-52 Geo. D. Ray

An Oral History of Our Club

Voices of Roswell Rotary I

Voices of Roswell Rotary II

Voices of Roswell Rotary III