Friends of Bulloch Hall
To accurately restore, preserve, and interpret this nationally significant antebellum historic site and to present an authentic interpretation to all Roswell citizens and visitors through quality tours, educational programs, and community outreach and events.
- Friends of Bulloch was founded in 1993.
- Bulloch Hall was built in 1839 by slaves of Major James Stephens Bulloch, one of Roswell’s first settlers and grandson of Governor Archibald Bulloch.
- Designed by architect Willis Ball of Connecticut, Bulloch Hall is an example of Greek Revival architecture listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
- Mittie Bulloch, mother of President Theodore Roosevelt, grew up in the house before moving to New York. President Roosevelt visited Bulloch Hall in 1905.
- Bulloch Hall is open daily for visitors to explore the grounds, restoration projects, and exhibits, and to participate in educational programs as well as guided and self-guided tours.
- A portion of the grounds of Bulloch Hall are known as Orchard Hill is being restored as a water conservation demonstration area that will include a gazebo, bridge, dock, nature trials, and a natural amphitheater.
- Roswell Rotary funds are planned to be used to complete the Peter Abreu Memorial Gateway and Stone Amphitheater on Orchard Hill.
Alterman and Karen Schwank are the co-Chairs Magnolia Ball, the
major fundraiser for Bulloch Hall, for the second year. This year Magnolia Ball will be held on June 22 at the
Cherokee Town Club in Buckhead.
Find out more: